Number 10



Eight months ago, Gray Langtry’s mother became prime minister… now someone wants her dead

Gray’s life has been in turmoil ever since her mother was chosen to lead the country. They had to leave their home and move into the prime minister’s official residence at Number 10 Downing Street. Everywhere she goes, she must be accompanied by bodyguards. The media won’t leave her alone — she’s on the cover of every tabloid, and her behaviour, her appearance, the length of her skirts… everything is constantly judged.

Worse, the scars from her parents’ divorce and her mother’s abrupt remarriage are still raw. She doesn’t like her stepfather. She doesn’t like this life. None of it was her decision.

When she’s photographed drunk outside a London nightclub, it makes headlines.  Gray is grounded and given new bodyguards – younger, cooler, and harder to fool than the last batch.

The threat

It’s Julia, the new bodyguard, who tells her that a new terrorist organisation issued a threat, and the threat is credible.  They say they’re going to kill her mother and Gray. When Gray tries to find out more though, no one will tell her. Her mother never mentions it and her bodyguard is forbidden to say more. Locked up in Number 10 night after night, Gray decides to find answers. If someone wants to kill her, she deserves to know why.

One of the few people who understands what’s happening is Jake McIntyre — the son of her mother’s political enemy. Convinced he’s working for his father, her mother forbids her to spend time with him. But Gray believes he might be able to help her learn the truth.

One night, while sneaking through dark government halls, she gets far more than she bargained for. She realises the situation is much worse than even her mother’s security team suspects. But will anyone believe the prime minister’s wild child daughter?

Afraid for herself, her mother, and her country, Gray is determined to find proof. But she must move fast.

The clock is ticking.

Number 10 is book 1 in a new spinoff series set in the world of CJ Daugherty’s international bestselling Night School series.

Buy Number 10

Buy Number 10 in the UK

Buy from Amazon

Buy from Moonflower Books

Buy Number 10 in the US and Canada

Buy from Amazon


“Number 10 is a Night School spin off series that sees CJ Daugherty back at her spine tingling best.  Gripping, thrilling, and filled with intrigue, Number 10 explores the nexus of power in the UK from a teenager’s point of view.” — Jane Hunt, author

“Daugherty’s London has been subtly reimagined, with danger, mystery and imagination combining to thrilling effect.” — The Financial Times

Number 10 in the press

Read the article in The Bookseller about Number 10 by clicking this link. 

Number 10 Publication dates and languages

Number 10 is out now in the UK, Canada and the US. Book 2 in the series will be released in 2021.

Number 10 is currently scheduled to be available in five languages:

  • German (Oetinger) — Spring 2021
  • French (Robert Laffont) — Out now
  • Spanish (Ediciones Urano) — Summer 2022
  • Hebrew (Books in the Attic) — Summer 2021
  • Serbian (Laguna) — Out now

I hope more languages will follow!